Arkansas Becomes the 35th Stand Your Ground State in the Union

Arkansas Becomes the 35th Stand Your Ground State in the Union

Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson (R) signed Stand Your Ground legislation into law Wednesday, strengthening law-abiding citizens’ ability to defend themselves when under deadly attack.

WMC5 reports the bill was sponsored by state Sen. Bob Ballinger (R-Ozark) and state Rep. Aaron Pilkington (R-Knoxville).

The new law “removes the duty to retreat before deadly force can be used” in a situation where an innocent individual is under attack and in fear for his or her life.

The NRA backed the bill as it moved through the Arkansas legislature.

NRA-ILA executive director Jason Ouimet commented on the measure after Hutchinson signed it, saying, “This law ensures the rights of law-abiding Arkansans are protected. Victims have little time to react when confronted with a criminal attack, they should not be required to try and run away before defending themselves. This is a common sense piece of self-defense legislation.”

The Rand Corporation notes that 34 other states have adopted a Stand Your Ground law. Florida Democrat state Sen. Shevrin Jones (D) is pushing to repeal Florida’s Stand Your Ground law.

AWR Hawkins is an award-winning Second Amendment columnist for Breitbart News and the writer/curator of Down Range with AWR Hawkins, a weekly newsletter focused on all things Second Amendment, also for Breitbart News. He is the political analyst for Armed American Radio. Follow him on Twitter: @AWRHawkins. Reach him directly at . Sign up to get Down Range at

AWR Hawkins